Fujifilm X-T3 Review (2022)

bladerunner6

DPR certainly did lay some praise on this camera and I hope that purchasers of it enjoy it. But I found your comparisons of lens lineups to the Sony, Nikon and Panasonic to be seriously flawed. Fuji has some serious gaps in its lineup. Some that come to mind are:

No XX-300 zoom
No 70-200 2.8 zoom
No 17-70 zoom
No fisheye lenses
No superzooms
No primes longer than 200mm
No lenses of any sort longer than 400mm
Only two macro lenses and they are in the very narrow range of 60 and 80mm
Only two stabilized primes
Only eight stabilized zooms
No lenses from Sigma or Tamron and none are to be expected

Obviously, sports, action and wildlife photographers are impacted by the lack of long and fast lenses.

But other types of photography are impacted by the lens selection. The unparalleled small range of macro lenses is not good for that type photography.

People that want stabilized lenses will find Fuji's lineup limiting compared to Nikon's lineup or certainly any system with IBIS.

Like

8

Oct 27, 2018*permalink

bladerunner6

continued...

And the lens lineup for what they have is not very broad.When they complete their current roadmap in 2020 they will have nine lenses (nearly 30%) out of 31 are at 16mm/23mm/33(35)mm/56mm. Plus they have four in the kit zoom range and two zooms in the 5X-2XX range. Not a lot of variety at all there.

And some of their lenses are pricey. The prices for some of their lenses are pretty high. The respective review site OpticalLimits called the pricing on the 18-135 "bizarre" and I would also point out that you can buy 100mm macro for other APS-C systems for less money than you can buy the shorter 80mm macro lens for. The price of Fuji's kit 5X-2XX lens is also on the high side, especially considering its slow speed on the long end. And Sony and Nikon certainly have better prices on the nifty-fifty. I am sure there are other costs differences but these come to mind.

Like

3

Oct 27, 2018permalink

bladerunner6

Continued...

As I said, DPR does heap praise on the camera and I hope that users of it find it enjoyable.

But the limited lens selection and some of the pricing on lenses plus the feature set of other cameras certainly leads me to believe that for macro photographers, sports, wildlife, action, astrophotography and people with certain budgets might be better suited with other gear.

Like

4

Oct 27, 2018permalink

Digital Imaging Technician

And, compared to Canikony there's exactly zero third party AF lens options. AFAIK.

Like

4

Oct 27, 2018permalink

(unknown member)

@Digital, Zeiss made three Touit lenses for Fuji X. They are readily available used (in USA, not sure about other markets). The 12mm is spectacular.

Like

4

Oct 27, 2018permalink

bladerunner6

Yes, there are the Zeiss lenses. The 12mm is reviewed as being pretty good but not spectacular.(3.5 stars out of five).
http://www.opticallimits.com/fuji_x/869-zeiss12f28?start=1
Of course three lenses when the lineup this thin doesn’t really change things much.

Like

1

Oct 27, 2018permalink

Paul JM

No 70-200 2.8 ? Really ?
How about this
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1080892-REG/fujifilm_16443060_xf_50_140mm_f_2_8_r.html

There are not as many lenses as the canon line up which has of course been developing for decades but at least Fuji now produces bodies that are worth putting the lenses on
Can’t bear people who clearly have no idea throwing grenades over the fence. Try using the line up and then see how acutely you may (not) miss the breadth of Canon’s lens range. For the vast majority of indications there are more than enough lenses in their line up
How many lenses do you need to produce outstanding images ? I take about 95% of my images now on 3 lenses.

Like

4

Oct 28, 2018permalink

Paul JM

Blade runner are you a school teacher by any chance 🤯

Like

Oct 28, 2018permalink

Paul JM

Look, I will take the bait and respond to what you claimed
‘No 70-200 2.8’
I have already sent you the link to their 50-140 f2.8 which equates to a FF equiv length of about 70-200

No prime longer than 200 mm and no zoom longer than 400 mm
You know full well that at FF equiv the 200 prime equates to a 300 mm lens and the 100-400 maxs out at the equivalent of 600mm

Looking at you posts it is clear that you are a perpetual antagonist. Stop whining and get out and take some shots. And perhaps stop canning a system you clearly just don’t understand

Like

8

Oct 28, 2018permalink

bladerunner6

Paul JM:

I know exactly what I am talking about. And I am clearly not talking about FF equivalence.

I talked about 60 and 80 mm macros not 90 and 120. If I were talking about FF equivalence I would have said 90 and 120.

Everything I talked about was clearly not FF equivalence.

So no, none of those lenses exist for Fuji. And yes, I do realize that some people use only a few lenses. Median income in the US is 61K. Most people can not afford the $15000 in photo gear you have and they get by with sometimes only the kit lens.

And I do take pictures. Take a look at my profile. I looked at your profile and in nearly 15 years you have not uploaded any to this website.

Like

1

Oct 28, 2018*permalink

Paul JM

I upload elsewhere for my own use and audience. Most of it is wreck diving.
To DPR ? Never. Because it is full of argumentative flogs like you who are here simply to try and appear clever. But then fail

Like

7

Oct 28, 2018permalink

DarnGoodPhotos

Blade, a 16-80 f4 is due out next year which satisfies your 17-70 requirement.

Like

2

Oct 28, 2018permalink

bladerunner6

I did indeed see it on the roadmap.

But if it wasn’t on there I would have put that down as a separate category. I am pretty sure all the other APSC camera systems have access to a 17-70 and an 1x-8x. Theses types of lenses tend to be in different price and possibly weight categories, although the Canon 17-85 is really on sale right now!

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?ci=274&fct=fct_zoom-focal-lengths_2206%7c16-80mm%2bfct_zoom-focal-lengths_2206%7c16-85mm%2bfct_zoom-focal-lengths_2206%7c17-70mm%2bfct_zoom-focal-lengths_2206%7c17-85mm&N=4288584247&

Plus the Fuji might be pricier than some of them.

In any case what about all the other gaps or the fact that they have few different focal lengths for the number of lenses they have. When they complete their current roadmap in 2020 they will have nine lenses (nearly 30%) out of 31 are at 16mm/23mm/33(35)mm/56mm. Plus they have four in the kit zoom range and two zooms in the 5X-2XX range. Not a lot of variety at all there.

Like

Oct 28, 2018permalink

racin06

"Obviously, sports, action and wildlife photographers are impacted by the lack of long and fast lenses."

Not me...the 80mm f/2.8, 50-140 f/2.8, 100-400 and 1.4TC have me covered. The big prime glass is overrated in shooting sports and wildlife. I see plenty of sports and wildlife being shot with the lenses I own above.

Like

1

Oct 30, 2018permalink

bladerunner6

racin06: Thanks for replying honestly to the comment. But just because you use this gear does not mean there are not better choices for sports, action and wildlife. I have done okay (according to Challenge voters) with an action shot with a $300 camera and a $96 lens, but it doesn't mean that my gear is a good choice for action and sports, because it certainly isn't.

And you are certainly impacted by your choices in the following areas in various ways with you various legends.

Speed
Reach
Convenience (having to use a TC)
Cost
Image Quality (when you use a TC because there is always a loss)
Weight

For example, if you were shooting Nikon you could replace your with a Sigma 105 macro:
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/806375-REG/Sigma_258306_105mm_f_2_8_EX_DG.html
And you would gain hugely in cost and have gains in speed, convenience, weight and IQ.

You could replace your 50-140/TC combo with any number of lenses from this list and experience several improvements.

Like

Nov 3, 2018permalink

bladerunner6

Continued:
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?ci=274&fct=fct_lens-mount_3316%7cnikon%2bfct_zoom-focal-lengths_2206%7c70-200mm%2bfct_a_focus-type_5738%7cautofocus%2bfct_zoom-focal-lengths_2206%7c70-210mm&N=4288584247&

As for the long end, lots of choices with lots of ways gain benefits. You could pick a zoom:
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?ci=274&fct=fct_lens-mount_3316%7cnikon%2bfct_zoom-focal-lengths_2206%7c100-400mm%2bfct_zoom-focal-lengths_2206%7c150-600mm%2bfct_zoom-focal-lengths_2206%7c50-500mm%2bfct_zoom-focal-lengths_2206%7c60-600mm%2bfct_zoom-focal-lengths_2206%7c80-400mm%2bfct_a_focus-type_5738%7cautofocus%2bfct_zoom-focal-lengths_2206%7c200-500mm&N=4288584247&

or this 500mm 5.6:
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?Ns=p_PRICE_2%7c0&sortType=default&ci=274&fct=fct_lens-mount_3316%7cnikon%2bfct_zooms-primes_4389%7cprime-lenses%2bfct_fixed-focal-lengths_2207%7c500mm%2bfct_a_focus-type_5738%7cautofocus&srtclk=sort&N=4288584247

Like

Nov 3, 2018permalink

bladerunner6

So yes, you can do sports, action, wildlife with any camera and gear combo but it does not mean it is the best choice. I was at Yellowstone last year and it made it very clear to me what sort of gear is needed for the best work. And Fuji's very limited lineup makes that problematic and/or expensive.

As for other types of photography, Fuji's limited range of focal lengths for macro means there are better choices. Other cameras have feature sets for macro, landscape, still life, product and astrophotography that make them better choices.

Many portrait photographers like a 70-200 2.8 and Fuji doesn't have that. And the 200mm is a F2.0 and has a price that is typical for an OEM lens at that speed and makes it an unaffordable option for the overwhelming majority of users.

Fuji's limited selection of stabilized lenses also puts limitations on users that put an emphasis on those types of lenses.

Like

1

Nov 3, 2018*permalink

bladerunner6

continued;
As mentioned in the review, Fuji is a jack of all trades and has good video. Certainly, I would think it would be a good street photography camera and that is one of the few areas where the lens lineup is good for that.

But for sports, wildlife, action, macro, landscape, still life, product, portraits, astrophotography and for people interested in a range of stabilized lenses there are better choices. Plus, some of Fuji's lineup (18-135, 80mm macro, the kit lenses, the 10-24, etc) are comparatively pricey. (Now you may not find them pricey but median US income is 61K a year and the overwhelming majority of people can not afford the thousands and thousands of dollars you spend on gear).

If you are street photographer, a videographer, have no particular area of photography you want to emphasize and you have the unusual amounts of money to afford some of the gear it is a great choice.

But the other category of photographers I detailed above should probably look elsewhere.

Like

1

Nov 3, 2018*permalink

Stevelink

“unparalleled small range of macro lenses“...True, but the XF80mm f/2.8 Macro is arguably the best, SHARPEST macro lens on the market!! (As a landscape and product photographer, it’s the sharpest lens I’ve ever used in 40 years of photography! True 1:1 and weather sealed, who needs anything else??

Like

Nov 8, 2018permalink

bladerunner6

Stevelink:
Thanks for being honest in your comments. But as you said, it is ARGUABLY the best, sharpest. Other lens are pretty sharp. Opticallimits.com describes the Sigma 85mm Art "In terms of resolution it is amazingly sharp at f/1.4 already and the quality is breathtaking between f/2.8 and f/5.6." They describe the Pentax 50mm macro as "a marvel of a lens in optical terms" and it costs a small fraction of the price of the Fuji and weighs vastly less. There are other examples but these make my case that its sharpness isn't unique.

In any case, modern macro lenses are so sharp that only the most petty, persnickety pixel peeping would show a difference in many if not most applications.

Also, the price is high for the lens, see ephotozine's review.

And other lenses offer weather sealing and 1:1 at a lower price so Fuji is not offering anything unique here.

Sure it is a good macro lens but it is heavy and pricey with nothing that can't be obtained elsewhere.

Like

1

Nov 11, 2018permalink

You might also like

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Fr. Dewey Fisher

Last Updated: 06/01/2022

Views: 5803

Rating: 4.1 / 5 (42 voted)

Reviews: 81% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Fr. Dewey Fisher

Birthday: 1993-03-26

Address: 917 Hyun Views, Rogahnmouth, KY 91013-8827

Phone: +5938540192553

Job: Administration Developer

Hobby: Embroidery, Horseback riding, Juggling, Urban exploration, Skiing, Cycling, Handball

Introduction: My name is Fr. Dewey Fisher, I am a powerful, open, faithful, combative, spotless, faithful, fair person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.